Wirral 100 Motor Club

Sat 9th October / Sun 10th October

Motorcycle Racing
Gate Admission: £15.00 - £20.00
Circuit: TBC

Event Information

The Wirral 100 Motor Club Championship races

We go into this final round of the 2021 season with only one of the twelve champions decided – Tim Poole (1000cc Twins). Based on the entry lists at the time of writing this preview, however, it perhaps seems unlikely Mike Bampton and Tim Bradley will relinquish their leads in the 650 Twins and Forgotten Era classes respectively. The other classes will involve sort-outs this weekend, none more so than in the AS Racing Formula 600 class, where with 45 points on offer from 3 races Adrian Kershaw, Barry Dimelow and Chris Eden are separated by just 10 points. The short season, technical woes and one-off visits by riders concentrating on other championships have meant that the Carl Roberts / Emjess Racing Powerbikes class has been fragmented this year, but it seems unlikely that the current top two, Nathan Harrison and David Jones will be overhauled. It is different in the Pre-Electronics Powerbikes class, where consistently solid performances by Steve Jones, Tim Poole and Stephen Tomlinson have brought them consistently to the fore. Mike Bampton leads the Pre-Injection class by 14 points from Craig Makin and Lewis Parkinson and is favourite again. The popular Creation Campers G/E Supersport class sees James Leatham with a 21-pont lead over Martin Clare but with a maximum of 60 points to play for, some tactical riding might play a part on Sunday. One of the two perennial Anglesey winners, Adrian Kershaw or Tim Bradley on production 400’s seem set to take the season’s honours in the 500cc Allcomers class, but Andy Jackson on his GP Yam is sure to be in the mix this weekend.

We are delighted to see that we have a full grid of 30 sidecars this weekend, split equally between W100 Open and FSRA Wintec Pre-Injection classes. In the W100 category, the championship is likely to be decided between the Markland / Rigby, Jackson / Roberts or Hauxwell / Taylor pairings, the latter interestingly switching from the expected Ireson (#89) to an Adolf RS (#51) outfit. Several leading TT and BSB crews have also come to join the party – Dave Molyneux & Dan Sayle on their revolutionary KTM, John Holden & Jason Pitt, and Steve & Matty Ramsden. Should be fun!

The Pre-Injection F2 class has already been won by Rob Fisher, ten times a winner of TT races, and Sarah Stokoe, a pairing that came together for the first time at our meeting at Oulton in April. Best of the rest have been the Pettman / Saunders duo. In the F1 class,

Simon Horton & Jordan Forest look likely to clinch the title from Dave Tibbles & Raitch Greenwood.

The ‘Anglesey Grand’

The focus of Sunday afternoon will be the two 12-lap legs of the ‘Anglesey Grand’. Entry for the Grand is by invitation and will feature not only those Powerbikes and F600 riders who have competed successfully in past W100 meetings and other events, but also those other riders impressing on Saturday. These will certainly include some of the very welcome visitors, as usual adding to the iconic nature of the Grand. The first three on aggregate will win some splendid glassware, there will be a special award for the best F600, and £2,000 of prize money is there to be had.

If the going is dry the 1000cc Powerbikes should have the edge, and from the entries to date, the impressive 2019 winner and Mallory Park specialist Louis Dawson will again be a man to watch, So too will be the usual W100 front-runners Robert Coppock, the 2019 W100 champion Graham Hornby, former champion John Robb and the Welsh flag-flyer Joey Taylor, who was overall 3rd in the 2019 Grand. Add to them some quality Irish visitors, including the 2018 Junior Manx Grand Prix winner James Chawke, and fellow roads specialists Paul Jordan and Alistair Kirk, it should be good.

Despite the obvious power disadvantages the 600’s always enjoy these longer races and put on a good show. This was very evident in 2019 when Barry Dimelow won the slightly damp 1st Leg and finished second in the 2nd Leg, ahead of all the Powerbikes apart from Louis Dawson; Barry is having a great 2021 and made his debut in the BSB Supersport class at Oulton two weeks ago. Others likely to feature strongly on 600’s are the multi-times W100 champion Adrian Kershaw, the W100 class champion in 2019 Chris Eden, TT specialist Jamie Coward,  and two further Irishmen Eoin Collins and Liam Chawke.